Mobitel bad internet experience

For the past few weeks I’m really having a pretty bad experience with mobitel broadband, I don’t know the reason, first I thought it was due to bad weather disrupting with the signals. However things have stayed the same even after the weather has settled.

I’ve seen people talking on Twitter how their ISP suck, specially the SLT landline broadband (which also runs the Mobiltel wireless broadband that I’m using). It surprised me how good mobitel has been even though their parent company is giving pretty slow internet over land lines. As the saying goes “One country, one kbps”.

I don’t know whether this bad service is because I’ve updated to their new package that promised to give 3 times much data for the same price. Because all this things started happening just after that.

It’s pretty annoying because the slow internet doesn’t happen continuously, they give the normal good internet speed for few minutes and suddenly speed drops with slow speed or no internet at all lasting for like 1-2 minutes and the speed suddenly comes back to normal and lasts for another few minutes this just goes on and on.

Capture.JPG
Speedtest couldn’t complete the test because the connection hung up

If you are in the middle of watching an online video, or loading a page it gets really frustrating. SLT has an history of disrupting service and slowing down speeds and suddenly stopping unlimited broadband packages for their land line users, I don’t know it’s the same thing that has happened to me.

As I remember the TRC has some specific rules stating that all ISPs should give at least some percentage of their promised speed at all times when a customer subscribe to an internet plan. There is no problem with their internet speed just the cyclical service disruptions in the middle that really stink.

Is there anyone else experiencing the same thing?

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

MH370 can’t go under a shadow of another Boeing 777.

12 days and counting there is no sign of MH370, and there are so many theories floating online. I’ve 2 past posts about some of the theories I read and I think was rational. One of the stories that I read was MH370 flying under she... Continue →