The world youth and Sri Lankan youth

Recently Sri lanka hosted the 2014 World Youth Conference. Many people I know on Twitter was involved in it and I don’t say that a bad thing. I didn’t see much of the happenings other than what people posted on Twitter.

However from the beginning I was very skeptical whether all these things will actually change the way the country is heading. But then I saw that there were people with more negative ideas towards it than me, who believed that it was a complete waste.

SL youth

I just don’t feel that the youth conference will do any good to the country and the direction it is heading, or do any good to the costs of living, inequality of status and wealth, and law.

I don’t blame for the youth, plus I don’t think the president should get all the blame. I think it’s the system of the country that has been there for so long. Everyone wants to change the political system of the country but no one who gets the power wants to change the way the system, and majority of the people who vote, vote for the wrong people.

So I don’t think the system of this country will not change for another 100 years to come, this has been something I believed for a long time, and will believe until I’m going to see any real change. YOu can host 100 WYC’s in this country but the system and the people of this country will be the same, there will be no improvement.

A WYC might be valuable in other countries where youths have more power and more influence on the country. In Sri Lanka the youths when coming out of colleges and when coming to a position where they can influence the country won’t be young anymore, plus majority of the youths like my friends at college and school mates doesn’t care about the way the country is headed anymore.

Recently I met a war veteran who said how he believed that when he was young, the youth of his age, who are leading the country now will change the corrupted political system when they get in to power. However now he’s disappointed that he believed that, rather than leaving the country and doing something better for himself.

So don’t want to feel that disappointed in future when looking back at my life, I don’t believe/ don’t want to believe that the youth in this country will do any change until I see any real change. I’m sure most people who worked in WYC will not agree with me but as one of the youths in the country that’s how I feel.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Should prices change depending on user location?

So I was reading this thread on Hacker News about the popcorn project, which the discussion was mostly about kickstarter backed projects and piracy. I was having this idea about this post on piracy for some time so I thought it’s the... Continue →